Winners of the 2024 IChemE Medals announced

Andrew Snook   

News IChemE

Image: IChemE

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) recently announced its 2024 IChemE medals winners, as well as other prize recipients. On March 5, the IChemE Medals and Prizes Committe awarded eight individual winners and five groups winners for “their exceptional contribution to the field of chemical and process engineering.”

“We are delighted to award these individuals and teams our profession’s highest accolades. Chemical engineers are constantly creating important new frontiers through their collective pursuit of knowledge, innovation, and positive impact, and this was evident in the impressive breadth and scope of the nominations. The submissions demonstrated world-leading examples of research, teaching and thought leadership, as well as outstanding volunteer service,” said Professor Mark Simmons FIChemE, Chair of the IChemE Medals and Prizes Committee.

“I am proud to commend these extraordinary contributions made by the chemical engineering community. The IChemE medals and prizes honour and celebrate those who are helping to shape the world with groundbreaking work, exceptional expertise, and dedicated progress towards addressing our global challenges. Congratulations to all of our very worthy winners, who have set an inspiring standard of excellence for us all,” said Nigel Hirst, IChemE president.

Individual awards

Ambassador Prize: Jennifer Aitken (posthumous award)

Davidson Medal: Vince Pizzoni

Franklin Medal: Gus Carroll         

Greene Medal: Geoff Maitland

Junior Sargent Medal: Qi Zhang

Morton Medal: Thomas Rodgers

Nicklin Medal: Binjian Nie

Trustees Medal: Margaret Donnan

Team awards

Hanson Medal: Team from University of Melbourne, Australia

Hutchison Medal (joint award): Team from University of Minnesota, USA, Team from Shanghai Maritime University, China, and Tongji University, China

Macnab-Lacey Prize: Team from University College London, U.K.

Senior Moulton Medal: Team from Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

To read the full citations of the winners, visit www.icheme.org/medals.

The IChemE medals and prizes are awarded annually for the purpose of  celebrating remarkable achievements of individuals, universities and companies involved in industry and academia. IChemE will be hosting webinars throughout the year to celebrate the 2024 winners’ achievements.

Nominations and entries for the 2025 IChemE Medals and Prizes will open on April 2, 2024.


Print this page


Stories continue below